Notices

Day 2

Old 05-02-2015, 02:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 2

I've been drinking for 17 years now. I haven't drank much over the last few years, but have fallen heavily back into the old bad decisions and decided to quit (again). The first time I quit was after a terrible car accident that almost killed me……..I quit that time for about 6 months or so and didn't have any withdrawal symptoms that I recall other than cravings. In January of this year, I realized things had to change in order stay above the ground and I was able to quit for about 80 days. The withdrawals on that one were a bit tougher. About 2 weeks ago, I had a drink on a plane out of town and completely fell off the wagon. I gave it up again on May 1, 2015 (Day 2) and what I"m experiencing now is beyond torture. i.e. extreme anxiety, can't sleep (when I do sleep, it's for a few min's at a time and with bad dreams), wake up covered in sweat, starting to get headaches, can't focus, no desire to do anything productive. I've already been diagnosed with severe anxiety disorders and panic attacks. I'm not sure (except from what I've read) what else to expect, or how long it lasts, but any info from anyone who's had similar experiences would be greatly appreciated. I've failed 2X at quitting totally, but this time, with these withdrawals after only 2 weeks of heavy drinking, makes it a little different for me.

CD
Old 05-02-2015, 02:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi cd - welcome

That definitely sounds like withdrawal to me. Have you considered seeing a Dr?

D
Old 05-02-2015, 02:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum cd!!
Old 05-02-2015, 02:52 PM
  # 4 (permalink)