Notices

Sponsor Question

Old 04-30-2015, 07:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Sponsor Question

Hi all. I am new to recovery and have joined AA. I recently asked a lady to be my temporary sponsor and immediately regretted it. I am really struggling with the continual contact and the requirement to reveal my deepest thoughts and feelings to this person. I'm pretty much a loner and do not normally talk about myself or my "secrets" and being required to do so with a sponsor is really stressing me out. The thought of having to reveal some of the things in my past and then see the judgment in someone's eyes or on their face is too much to take.

Don't get me wrong, she is a very nice lady but I'm totally uncomfortable with this level of revealing conversation. I want to just stop the sponsor thing and just attend the meetings and read the books. But as crazy as this sounds, I'm afraid to tell her this. And I'm wondering if I'm setting myself up for failure if I do this.

I have started seeing an addiction therapist and I have my recovery plan note book in place.

Does anyone have suggestions on how I should handle my issue with a sponsor? I'd appreciate any insight.

Thanks for listening.
Old 04-30-2015, 07:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Trudgin

In our area a temporary sponsor is more of a bridge from outside the rooms to inside. Sort of an introductory mentor if you will.
Doing steps 1-3 doesn't have to be revealing too much on your part. It's step 4 -5 which is down the road and doesn't need to be concerning at this point.

You should never feel as if you have to reveal anything you don't want to with anyone.

If your feeling pushed explain your feelings. Tell your new friend you need time and just keep it light.

Step 1 is all you
Step 2 is you and God
Step 3 is all God

Part of recovery is being honest. Explaining openly to your sponsor is a good start!

Keep coming back !
Old 04-30-2015, 08:43 PM
  # 3 (permalink)