Notices

Withdrawal

Old 04-29-2015, 04:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Withdrawal

Ok so I am wanting to quit alcohol, but I used the internet to do searches and now I am worried immensely about withdrawal. I do not want to go to a doctor as I don't want this in my health record (does that show up??)
I have been drinking heavily for about 2 1/2 yrs. I have had a few sober days but pretty much every day. I live alone and am giving myself anxiety over having DTs and dying by myself. Am I at risk for DTs?
I know I have damaged my body. For the first time in my life I have hypertension- I used to have borderline low BP. My urine smells weird, but no blood, and I pretty much have constant diarrhea (TMI Maybe). Oh the sweats, whoa. I haven't had a drink since 10pm last night. My stomach is bloated but I was able to keep food in me today. Do I taper? Cold turkey?
Thanks in advance
Old 04-29-2015, 04:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Do your best

Welcome Julesonya nice to meet you Abstinence is the best route by far

If you can book a Dr apt first thing in the morning and let them know you will get help with meds that are specifically for WD

if you dont want to go Dr you can detox at a hospital to be on the safe side & eliminate any worry

Nice to meet you welcome aboard
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Julesonya

we can't give you medical advice here, and even if we could there's just no way any of us could guarantee you you'll be fine or not.

If you're concerned, I really think the best thing to do is see a Dr. It's the all round safest option

D
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR. You should check with a Dr regarding a medical detox. I personally wouldn't do it on my own, it's too dangerous during the first 3 days.
Old 04-29-2015, 05:12 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Do you see a general practioner? A psychiatrist?
Old 04-29-2015, 05:15 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Julesonya,