Your Detachment Tips

Old 04-25-2015, 07:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Your Detachment Tips

I would love to hear from others what kinds of things they think and do when they find themselves having to detach . . .

I am not very good at detachment and I need all of the hints and tips I can get.

I can be too inquisitive and too available - please share things you have learned to do to help yourself.

I keep triggering myself into PTSD responses - and then I have to recover - over and over again.

Please share!

Tell how you are able to turn your worries into peace of mind and HOW you are able to enjoy your days (what you tell yourself - what kinds of thoughts you think, things you do and don't do).

Thank you
Old 04-26-2015, 02:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Seek- I have found after 5 years of addiction with my son, that for me, the only way detachment can be successful is to completely walk away. I have done the dance with him many, many times only to be pulled back in and then hate myself for letting him hurt me again. The one thing that finally hit me was when I finally got it. That no matter how much I love him, all he does is use that love to get what he wants. The last time he did this I literally felt something lift from my shoulders and was able to do the "no contact" deal.
I cannot hear his voice because he my son. And his voice makes me breakdown. We may talk occasionally, but not very often and I am very guarded during any conversation. I do not believe you can ever fully
detach. At least as a Mom. He is on my mind, but the longer it is, the less I think about him. Sad, I know. But, it is the only way to save my sanity. I never, never ask questions. I simply do not want to know. I find out other ways about his arrests, hospital stays, etc. I do not yet have peace of mind, and do not know if I ever will. His addiction sucked the joy out of me.
Old 04-27-2015, 11:09 AM
  # 3 (permalink)