Question on the steps ...

Old 04-20-2015, 09:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Question on the steps ...

I think I posted this in the F&F of substance abusers by accident - Sorry!

I'm trying to start working through the infamous 12-steps. I'm noticing a lot of people say they breeze right through the first 3 steps. I'm finding that I'm working a lot on step 3 (I'm a bit of a control freak and have something of a mental block with "letting go" to my higher power due to a long family history of -in my opinion overboard- religious issues).

But I consistently keep having to come back to steps 1 and 2 and am in an almost total "fake it til you make it" mode. Granted I'm really new at this, but it seems like I'll think I'm doing ok and then all of a sudden I'm back to talking myself down every few minutes. So, is this normal? Will I always come back to these or will it eventually be something I don't even think about?
Old 04-20-2015, 09:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

I would highly recommend getting a sponsor. For me I could not have worked the steps in any meaningful without the Guidance of someone with a lot more sobriety than myself.

The questions you are asking are good ones but they should be directed towards your sponsor
Old 04-20-2015, 10:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

For me the first 3 steps aren't a "one and done" deal. They're more like a continual process. Especially step 3 (control issues here as well, imagine that). I frequently find myself having to turn new things over, especially when my instinct is to try to impose my will and "fix" or control people or situations.
I have "worked" all the 12 steps, but that doesn't mean I'm cured or done forever. Recovery is a process.
Something that helps me when I'm struggling is to lead a meeting on a topic that is giving me trouble.
Old 04-20-2015, 10:24 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Curmudgeon, Electrical Engineer, Guitar God Wannabe

Location: Where the mighty arms of Atlas hold the heavens from the Earth