Notices

Working/staying at my job in early sobriety?

Old 04-09-2015, 06:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Working/staying at my job in early sobriety?

I'm a few weeks into sobriety, and experiencing anxiety that has me literally crawling out of my skin and bawling my fists to the point where I have cuts in my hands from my nails

Unfortunately I work in a very demanding job both in terms of mental focus and hours (I'm a lawyer) and I'm struggling to keep it together at work without the "relief" of drinking at night that I used to have. (Of course the relief would cause me more anxiety the next day and it went out of control which is why I'm sober in the first place, but for some reason my anxiety has gotten much worse since I stopped drinking).

On one hand I want to just take a leave of absence from work (though not sure how I'd explain that) until a few weeks pass and I'm over the early-sobriety period (is there one?), just like I would if I went to rehab. On another hand I need to learn to deal with working without drinking, and I also heard you're not supposed to make any major life changes in the first year of sobriety....

Thoughts?
Old 04-09-2015, 06:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I should also note that I am very unhappy in my line of work
Old 04-09-2015, 06:53 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Have you consulted your doctor? I was prescribed Lexapro and it has been a great help to my anxiety, especially since I stopped drinking.
Old 04-09-2015, 06:59 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I have always wondered why anyone would become an attorney... the stress and long hours. So I get why you would want to do something else. You have the stress of the job along with the stress of sobriety compounding things. If you are stressed to the point of cutting yourself with your nails, then maybe some medical intervention would help. It is best to get in front of this than be forced into something (like losing your job). Good luck!
Old 04-09-2015, 07:05 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Adventurer