Notices

dead end jobs and drinking

Old 04-07-2015, 09:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

dead end jobs and drinking

i work a dead end job i want to be a actor the stress i feel of being at this place has given me clarity.about my situation it also seems to be driving me to drink just to cope .anyone else feel this way ?
Old 04-07-2015, 09:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I also work a dead end job. That is a huge part of how I came to the realization that it was time to quit drinking. I've been working the same dead end job for about ten years. No advancement, no raises. Being a boozehound really killed any ambitions.

Few responsibilities, flexible hours, drinking culture. My job is definitely conducive to being a drunk.
Old 04-08-2015, 04:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Have you been looking for other another job..mine is pretty much the same situation i get paid bi weekly its the same **** day n day out .
Old 04-08-2015, 04:30 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I get what your saying but actors and musicians, in and out rehab for a plethora of addictions since the beginning of time. Be careful when you follow your dreams
Old 04-08-2015, 05:15 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

What would happen if you spent the time (and money) you spend drinking working on finding a new job and/or improving your acting craft? Wouldn't that ultimately be less stressful?
Old 04-08-2015, 05:22 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

Here's the thing about dead end jobs and drinking tho.

if you resort to drinking, for whatever reason (I'm bored, I'm better than this, I really need to unwind, my boss is an ass...whatever) you're virtually ensuring you'll stay in that dead end job aries.

I did it for years.
D
Old 04-08-2015, 06:14 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  

I used "to cope" with quite a bit of life as an excuse to drink.
Seemed i had quite a few excuses to drink. Changed jobs to removed my perceived problems with the job and I found another excuse to use to drink.