Notices

What is Powerlessness

Old 03-01-2015, 04:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
New Life Sober

What is Powerlessness

The first time I attend to AA, I was not sure if this is actually for me, so I decided to look online. I found SR, and other programs that I thought was fit for me. When I started lurking around SR and read about other peoples stories, I was like okay AA is like this only you are face to face with.

Since I been going to AA, I have really admit that I am Powerlessness over Alcoholic. Let’s just say that once an I takes a drink, a chemical reaction occurs within my body, setting off an intense craving for more. This craving doesn’t always occur, which is why some alcoholics can, on occasion, drink like normal people.

I am just getting into my 12 and 12 book and I am very pleased that I can understand and admit that I have a problem and I am powerless to alcohol.
If you put your mind to it, it will help you be ease on going through them.

I am grateful that I can be strong and find my way to keep me sober by saying I cant have alcohol and not dwell on it. March 4th will be my 30 dys and I have came along ways to fight what comes my way.

I just wanted to share this and your welcome to post what is powerless too you?
Old 03-01-2015, 04:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
waking down

I have power over alcohol in that I can choose not to drink it because by drinking it I give it my power.
Old 03-01-2015, 04:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Once I drink then all bets are off!!

The only way to stay in control is to not have that 1st drink, life has been on the up ever since!!
Old 03-01-2015, 05:09 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Trudgin

At first I found this concept to be very foreign. As time goes by I find grace in the recognition I cannot control nor do I need to have domain over all things. The concept to me is in fact liberating and freeing.

Perhaps just the opposite of what I expected.