Deeper realizations

Old 02-18-2015, 06:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Deeper realizations

Hi folks,

I'm new to being on the opposite side of addiction, as I am a recovering alcoholic. While it's a simple concept to detach from someone who's drinking, I'm finding it's actually complicated when the person I'm turning away from, the person who's behavior I'm rejecting, is my partner's.

For the most part he's sweet and friendly when he drinks. Alcohol softens his rough edges. Yet since I've been in recovery, I've found hanging out with him and other heavy drinkers in our crowd to be spiritually deflating, joyless, and frustrating.

The more I do it, the more momentum I seem to gain, though. He has a friend who is in the hospital, dying from complications due to alcoholism, who he hasn't reached out to. I understand his hesitancy in this particular situation, as it's a terrible medical thing complicated by the fact that they've been out of touch for the past few years, however, it's cracked open some insight for me into an overall pattern of isolation in his life.

He likes people, but he doesn't keep in touch with anyone, either old friends or new friends. He doesn't see people unless I make the plans for us to do stuff as a couple. He never tried to connect with any of the couples that I hooked us up with over the years, and we gradually got edged out as husbands in the groups grew closer and did things together outside of the couple. I always thought that our life as a couple might be a little more complete if he made some connections with folks.

His only company outside of me is booze and tv. I am his entire world, which is why my recovery is such a threat to him. Part of the hesitancy that I've had with recovery is his clinginess. Just last night I slipped away to make a quick phone call and he stood over me watching me talk.