Trust - Setting Boundaries - Codie help?

Old 02-16-2015, 09:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trust - Setting Boundaries - Codie help?

Hi, I am new to SR and have done a lot of reading but this is my first post. I will try to be succinct - I have a tendency to be very long-winded in text and not know what is enough or too much information at one time. So here is my (hopefully quick) backstory to get to my questions for today:

I am an ACoA and (reluctant to admit) Codie. My AM and I have always been "close". She has always seen us as being so similar as I always wanted to caretake her and thus mirrored a lot of her anxiety, depression, etc. and spent a lot of time being her friend instead of her daughter. Both of my parents were alcoholics throughout my childhood, they had a terrible on and off again marriage, and then he died suddenly of heart attack when I was 16. She has been for the most part single for the 13 years since that happened and is now a lonely, anxious, underemployed, frail for her age early 60's.

A few years ago she got sober. Supposedly got sober I should say. She moved out of state to live closer to my sister and nephew, meanwhile I got married, and so my relationship with her was over the phone and text with occasional visits. She maintained that she was not drinking (even when my sister would tell me she was drinking again and Mom would say sister was crazy and lying, and sister being scapegoat growing up guess who I believed). Then about a year ago my husband and I moved to the area where they all live for his work, coincedence. She and I spent a lot of time together for the first 6 months as she was very lonely and "had missed me so much." Then she got very depressed and stopped coming to visit. She and I would talk and she explained away all of these behavior changes to the depression and anxiety. I bought it hook line and sinker, having experienced depression myself that made me a total hermit.