Notices

3 day loop

Old 02-15-2015, 07:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

3 day loop

I'm new to this and meetings still. I was in denial for a very long time. Now I'm in another sort of denial. I first tried to quit in August. Went well for over a month. Then fell off the wagon. Now Im still trying to quit drinking. I will usually wake up after a bender and think I need to get my act together and the day is usually depression and lethargy, sweats and dull headache. Same the next day. But the 3rd day is the toughest. I feel euphoric, dizzy, irrational mood and confidence that I could drink again. Thus my 3 day loop. Did anyone have this problem before? And how did you beat it? It's very frustrating!
Old 02-15-2015, 07:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I finally became convinced that my drinking was never going to get better. Every time I drank, it was a 3-5 day binge that left me feeling depression, despair and self-loathing. I decided to give up the fight..... I was getting my butt kicked. I had to realize that I don't have to drink, even if I want to. It never ended well.
Old 02-15-2015, 07:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

100% Hun. Any time I managed to go without it would be day 3 I gave in. Usually it would be drinking every night till really late and eventually after a particularly heave one having night 1 - hangover and exhausted so early night. Night 2- would be like first night really trying and with some willpower managed it. Day 3 I'd give in. Talking to a friend who worked in additions and he told me 72 hours is the worst point in physical withdrawal too and day 3 is often the hardest to get past. Knowing it's normal kinda helped knowing I had to push through it. Only way to beat it is to push through it no matter how hard and to keep doing it. Good luck xx
Old 02-15-2015, 07:36 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover