Insight Appreciated

Old 02-03-2015, 05:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Insight Appreciated

Hi All,
I am new to this forum. I am new to reaching out for help. Tonight I will attend my first al anon meeting. I've read thru many a threads, but realize each situation is unique- as is mine.
I've been with my husband 9 years, married less than 2. When we first met I too was in to partying. Then a few years into our relationship I got pregnant, and well things changed for me!! We continued on a rocky path. He does not drink daily, but instead jumps at a chance to go hang with his buddies- which usually meant he would not come home for sometimes days at a time, spending money we didn't have. A lot of trust in our relationship has been lost. When he did come home he was miserable. We eventually moved away to get away from 'the crowd'. He's improved drastically, but the slip ups still happen. We now have 2 kids. He works away, so we moved back to our home town so I could be close to family/help while he is away at work, but with that meant moving back near his old drinking buddies. He swore up and down it would be different- but once again at least once a shift he finds an excuse to head out and another excuse to stay out and do things that effect us financially and mentally. He admits he's an alcoholic. After Xmas he even said he wanted to quit drinking for 6 months and reevaluate the situation at that time. I don't know what's happened between now and then, but now he doesn't want to quit drinking. He can 'have a few and stop' and the 'only reason he goes on benders is because we are fighting'. I know I've been trying to control him, in hopes that he's change, and I know it doesn't work like that. But now I don't even know what to do. He obviously doesn't intend to quit, and I can't sit back wondering if tonight is the next night he won't come home.