Any parents of alcoholics out there?

Old 01-29-2015, 10:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Any parents of alcoholics out there?

I'm the mother of a beautiful 25 y.o. son who has made a complete mess of his life. Since high school he has been drinking & smoking pot. Made it to med school only to show up high and ultimately get kicked out. Got his first DUI two weeks ago. Probably would have gotten it long ago had my husband and I not pulled him out of many bars, or took the keys, or blocked his car. He is a binge drinker, usually on a two week cycle. I have been monitoring his activity for many years, trying to prevent further damage. I've gone from a bubbly, vibrant, happy optimist to a nervous, defeated, hopeless blob. This lifestyle is RIDICULOUS.

After the DUI he agreed to go to an IOP program. He is currently on Antabuse and an antidepressant. I think he is sufficiently scared of the Antabuse (I've been pushing for it for months) but since he finds it all very difficult to talk about, I wonder how the counseling will work.

Thanks for letting me introduce myself. I plan to attend Al-Anon soon. My husband and I went to one meeting. It was extremely awkward as the only other person there was the facilitator who was mostly interested in talking about her ex. I hope I can find a well-attended meeting this time.

I'm open to any and all suggestions. My kid is smart but very naïve to the world. He doesn't seem to grasp the gravity of the problem, although one time we picked him up and he kept saying "I CANT STOP". Why wouldn't a person in this situation beg for help? I'm so confused.
Old 01-29-2015, 10:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)