Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

Ok, so I'm writing him a letter...because I'm pretty bad at talking lol

Old 01-27-2015, 08:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I wrote a rough draft of a letter for AH outlining my boundaries, and voicing my concerns about his drinking and how it's affecting me and our family. I don't know how loving a compassionate I should be, or how much I should say about what I want to happen(him stopping drinking, working a program, etc). This is what I have so far:

Dear AH,
I need to write this letter to tell you what I've been feeling because you and I both know I am not very good at expressing myself in conversation.

I want to make it clear that I am both bothered and worried by your drinking. I am bothered because your alcoholism is affecting all of our lives negatively. DD does not deserve to be exposed to drinking in general, not your lack of involvement when you are drunk or sober. She does not deserve to watch her father kill himself, and she does not deserve to have odds stacked against her to become an alcoholic herself because one of her parents chooses that life.

I am also bothered by the fact that on multiple occasions, the last of our money has been used to buy beer and/or cigarettes instead of on DD. At those times we have had to ask my mom to buy her diapers and milk, and no parent should ever choose their own vices over their child's needs.

I am worried because I know you have something going on with your health, even though you won't swallow your pride and tell me. Do you want us to find you dead somewhere because you were too selfish to go to the doctor? I am also worried because you are becoming increasingly distant, and you have getting irritated much more easily in recent months.