Notices

First Post Ever & Rant

Old 01-22-2015, 06:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
GBT

First Post Ever & Rant

Greetings! I have been reading about many of you over the past few days, and decided tonight that I needed to plunge into discussion.
My background: I'm a lawyer in my late 30's who has been heavily drinking since I started practicing some 15 years ago. I became a daily drinker about 5 years ago. 5-8 beers per night and a night cap consisting of usually a bottle of red wine.
I tried to hang it up about a year ago and lasted about 2 months. I went through a hell of a withdrawal period, felt great after a few weeks, but I'm not sure why I relapsed. At eleven days, I am a little anxious still, but for the most part the physical cravings are calm. I can do this if I can control the non-physical urges.
My rant: I feel alone in this struggle. My wife (who seldom drinks) berates me from time to time about being "a drunk" but when I try to quit she has nothing to offer in terms of encouragement. Maybe she's just jaded. Maybe I do not deserve her encouragement. I've lied, I've hid, I've embarrassed. But my issue is this: She is very attuned and knows if I have had one sip of alcohol, and sees right through my lies, and ready in an instant to attack me for drinking. But for God's sake, does she not notice that I haven't had a drink in 11 days? She actually came home tonight with a bottle of wine, opened it and asked me if I wanted a glass. I said no, and she looked at me in an indignant manner and said, Why not? I wanted to say, Because I don't want a glass, I WANT THE WHOLE DAM'N BOTTLE. But I actually said that I needed a good night's sleep. Well, maybe its just my first real test in 11 days. So, instead of scarfing down the bottle, I decided to vent here and keep my mind right.
Old 01-22-2015, 06:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)