Notices

Struggling

Old 01-16-2015, 01:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Struggling

Sorry. This prob isn't the place but I'm new to this app and can't find anywhere else to ask for support. Havin a tough time at the mo. Been dry for about 118 days with no problem whatsoever. Now going on holiday. Sat here in a bar with my wife and 4 pints of coca cola. We are both recovering drinkers and both off. But tomorrow we are cruising in the Caribbean. It's all we can do to stay off tonight never mind tomorrow. Any thoughts? Ian and Carolyn.
Old 01-16-2015, 01:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I learned that if I look hard enough there are many things to do while on holiday that are not related to drinking. I also learned that in my early sobriety, hanging out in a bar was NOT the best of ideas even if one was to drink something non-alcoholic. There are no rules saying that you HAVE to drink in the Carribbean. I suggest snorkeling.....much more fun! And the view is much better there too!
Old 01-16-2015, 02:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

welcome to the forum blanderpip
can i ask you why are you sitting in a bar?!
Old 01-16-2015, 02:00 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

So any thoughts soberclover?
Old 01-16-2015, 02:02 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Ha ha. Good question. Getting a bar meal.
Sorry SC. Just seen your reply.
Old 01-16-2015, 02:02 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Welcome, blander pip. Congratulations on 118 days.

Check with the cruise staff and find out if there are alcohol-free activities - spa treatments (although alcohol may be offered in the spas, drinking isn't the main focus); craft workshops; motivational speakers; exercise facilities?

You may even be able to ask to be seated with non-drinkers at meals.

Have a nice time; enjoy the warmth and the sun.
Old 01-16-2015, 02:11 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

There may also be 'excursions' offered by the cruise liners while in port which do not focus on drinking activities (walking tours of the towns, snorkeling, shell searching).
Old 01-16-2015, 02:17 PM