Notices

Sobriety First Isn't Easy

Old 01-14-2015, 10:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sobriety First Isn't Easy

So I'm on day 17 and my background is trying to get sober for almost two years. This last time I lost my live in boyfriend and home. Luckily I have a good job and was able to find a place to live which I did in short order right after I dove back into AA. I'm now pulling the pieces of my life back together, moved in, meetings everyday along with the stress and anxiety of all the problems that I had which are manifesting in the worst ways. I was pretty sick in the stomach yesterday, not sleeping and I'm feeling very out of sorts with boxes everywhere. If it was up to me I would be taking a couple days to unpack and buy furniture. All I have is a bed that I bought currently and two tables I took with me.

Anyway, the whole mantra that my sponsor keeps telling me is to put sobriety first. This is the first time in the two years that I'm doing this and let me tell you it's hard! It's hard for me to make sure to make my nightly meetings especially how tired I am. I get up, go to work and then go to AA which with traveling to the meetings and back I'm not getting home until like 8pm or later. It's hard but I'm doing it. I do want to say that there is this voice that's creeping in telling me if I'm this miserable doing all this then why am I? Aren't I supposed to be feeling some relief with being sober? I know this is my alcoholic brain talking because I am a prime example of self will run riot.

I'm just posting to put my struggle out there and my thinking. I want this time to be different and so I'm taking different action but it's not always easy and doesn't always feel good. I hope that I can really put together some real sober time. It gets better right? This is just the early sobriety adjustment? It will become my norm and I will feel better?
Old 01-14-2015, 10:22 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Do your best