Notices

Day one

Old 01-07-2015, 10:04 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day one

So today I have just passed 24 hours of no alcohol after daily alcohol use and abuse for years. I feel some withdrawal shaking, sweats, nausea, stomach pain and am scared it's going to get worse, but maybe I'll be lucky. I am able to move around and eat a little I have been drinking for about 5 years. It started later in college binge drinking on weekends but a couple months and it became most days. it was 3 or 4 drinks on weeknights and 6 to 8 on weekends in addition to abusing weed and coke. That went on for two years being with an abusive boyfriend didn't help. I started grad school and initially drank less and l stopped doing coke and weed but kept drinking most of the week. I graduated started working and slowed down the drinking to 3 drinks several times a week and occasional binge on the weekend. The last two years continued to get worse. It started 4 drinks a day and some weekends more but this past year I probably drink 4 to 6 drinks a night and 8 on weekends. This past 2 weeks I've been on a binge drinking 8 to 10 drinks a day. I woke up yesterday and reevaluated my life and this is not what I want. I am not happy and I'm making myself sick and killing myself slowly or at this point not so slowly. I need help and I called my old therapist since I have a long history of depression and anxiety and my mom is supportive and will take care of me for the next few days. I haven't spoken to my boyfriend yet but he know I have a problem with alcohol and I'm desperately hoping he will be supportive. Sorry it was long winded but I needed to put it out there and be encouraged everyday is a new day to chose to be happy and sober.
Old 01-07-2015, 10:08 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Do your best

Welcome Baerle youl find tons of support & advice here

Nice to meet you
Old 01-07-2015, 10:09 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hey! Good decision, you will get encouragement here thats for sure. We've all been there.