Notices

Here we go

Old 01-02-2015, 01:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Here we go

This is my first time attempting this. I am 25 years old and have been drinking for nearly 10 years. It has really taken a toll on my mental health the last couple years with depression becoming much more apparent. My girlfriend of 5 years broke up with me 3 months ago and I've found myself at my lowest point. Drinking by myself nearly every night. Doing nothing at all but browsing the web in a drunken state, with no ambition or drive to do anything. I'm only 2 days sober, and am terrified of what is to come. My family is concerned for my health but supportive of my decision. The only downside to that is my parents recently moved 3,000 kms away, so its harder to find support. All of my friends are heavy drinkers, so I don't really have many people to turn to about this, so that's why I came here. Any advice for a first time at trying to get sober? Thanks.
Old 01-02-2015, 01:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey

Have you given any thought to checking out a local AA meeting?

I'm 27 years old... felt the exact same way - that I was going to have ZERO friends left and be a miserable recluse for the rest of my life if I quit drinking entirely. I surrounded myself with heavy drinkers, didn't have any other hobbies or sober friends to speak of.

I started going to AA....joined a home group. Let people get to know me.

Turns out there is a whack of awesome alcoholic young people just like me in the rooms of AA. Not only did the program (12 steps, etc.) change my life completely but I have a huge support system of REAL friends. People who actually want to hang out with me sober, etc. with no strings attached. It took time but with AA I started to build a new sober life that made my old life look like a chaotic nightmare.