Advice on a tricky situation

Old 12-30-2014, 03:28 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice on a tricky situation

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I have a question that I have not been able to come up with a clear game plan on how to handle yet.

First of all I myself am an alcoholic, I've been sober for a little over three years now and I feel better about life than I ever have. I did not go through any formal treatment beyond attending a few AA meetings and for the most part various spiritual practices are what helped me through my most difficult times.

Anyway, the issue I am having is not about me, it's in regards to my fiancee's aunt. I am getting married in April and as can be expected during my time with her I have become closer and closer to her family. Her aunt is viewed by everyone in her family as having a drinking problem, she drinks every day and blacks out frequently. She is often very toxic and angry towards anyone who speaks with her and is generally a negative person. Both of these traits makes her somewhat of a pariah to her family. The problem I have is that no one in my fiancee's family will actually approach her about her problems with alcohol, everyone just continues to keep an "out of sight, out of mind" mentality about it. In her family most people drink, quite heavily at times and I feel the word alcoholism is something they do not really understand.