Notices

Questions..

Old 12-22-2014, 05:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Questions..

hi

i am new to recovery and i am currently in my second week of sobriety.

Trouble is, is that i work for a wine company and am a sales rep out on the road selling wines everyday.

my work has really suffered in the last few months and it was noticed by my bosses but not noticed as alcoholism.

i have contacted HR and am going through the EAP program and first appointment is tomorrow.

my question is, do i tell my sales manager that i have a problem with alcohol? he has been very supportive lately and i feel like he really wants me to succeed.
i dont know what to tell him when i get around to resigning? do i lie and create a reason for quitting or tell him the truth?

any advise is welcome!!!
Old 12-22-2014, 06:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I don't see a need to divulge the reason you are leaving other than to say that you've accepted a new position. Don't lie, but you don't need to air everything to your boss. Keeping your recovery out of your professional life is a wise thing. Not everyone understands recovery. You'll know who to tell and when. For me, I don't bring it up.

Like I said, not everyone understands. My husband told my boss, and from then on NOTHING was the same at work. I hadn't changed at all, but my boss became a suspicious, nit-picking person to the point that people started asking what the heck was going on. Being that I needed his reference to move forward, it made life very hard professionally.
Old 12-22-2014, 06:05 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

no, dont tell him. you will need him as a reference later on. there is a huge stigma with alcoholism. I thought i was being smart once by being honest...NOPE I wasn't

good job on getting sober
Old 12-22-2014, 06:07 AM
  # 4 (permalink)