Notices

New here, drug abuser not sure where to start

Old 12-19-2014, 12:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, drug abuser not sure where to start

Hi all this is my first time ever seriously reaching out to anyone about my problem and desire to quit using. I'm 23 now and since 18 years old I've been using opiates(my drug of choice) off and on, quitting for up to 4 months only to go back. Well when I was 18 I remember being worried in 5 years i'd have changed nothing about myself and that I'd fall behind in life because of how I am. Well now 5 years later I'm basically still in the same boat, although just last year I started back in school and it's been going along slowly, but not too bad. I have talked to friends about it, but they are all users of something too and it never did much for me talking to them. My family knows I act out sometimes, but they are unaware of a lot that goes on and have no clue what drugs I do because none of them have experience with it. They always thought I just had a bad temper. This has really gotten me to think I want more than this, I want to be happy, free of all mind-altering drugs. I'm tired of ruining relationships, fighting with friends and family, spending ridiculous amounts of money, etc. Every bad thing that I can think of that has happened over the last few years has been a result of drug use in some way. I've also abused about every other drug you could imagine to try and fill the hole opiates leave when I couldn't get any. I would like to meet new people and have a relationship one day, along with plans for a career, but with how crazy my mood swings can be while using, I can almost guarantee if I don't quit for good, anything I start will end badly.