Me again

Old 08-04-2004, 12:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Me again

I have a question, does anyone else in here get like a rock gut feeling in their stomach before they go home. I get all nervous kind of because I dont want to have to deal with my hubby drinking. As I mentioned before, he does not get drunk all the time like before, but I get so upset that he could even drink 1 drink after all the crap (hospitals) in the last year. He says he knows he cannot drink but to me the he cannot shake the urge. I just dont like that feeling I get. I am a worry freak as it is so I was just curious if anyone else here is in the same kinda situation.
Old 08-04-2004, 01:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Wolflvr,

I get that feeling all the time. Sometimes it's like I'm two different people, calm at work, and a nervous wreck when I'm pulling up to the house. I'm very new at this, but one thing I do is keep a vase of flowers on the kitchen table. I always go right to that when I come in so I have something nice to look at. I've also left the house again if my husband is drinking or taking narcotics - I don't want to deal with it. I used to think it was avoidance, but it's not. It's keeping me in a healthy place. Even if you go out for a cup of coffee. I remember one counselor was motified when I told him I didn't feel safe in my own house - there has never been physical abuse (which I think he immediately thought) but sometimes emotional and psychological abuse can be just as bad. I'm thinking of you.

((((hugs))))
Cheryl
Old 08-04-2004, 01:09 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Dancing To My Own Beat