Notices

New, anxious, pathetic

Old 12-07-2014, 07:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New, anxious, pathetic

Well, I've been lurking around this site for about a week now and I've finally mustered up the courage to join and post. I guess I hadn't because doing so kind of solidified in my mind that my problem IS a problem.

I guess I'll divulge a bit of background info so it's out there and available for review when I decide that my drinking isn't so bad. I'll be 26 on New Year's Eve and I've been drinking for 10 years. My drinking got heavy right off the bat as I have always been an all or nothing kind of person. It didn't take long before I was drinking handles of vodka a day 6 days a week. Fast forward two years and the legal problems started. I have had two felony charges and an aggravated dui which I got two years ago this weekend. During all this time I have only been sober(more just a dry drunk) once. It was when I got my dui in December 2012 to April of this year. I only stayed sober because I was facing 5 years in prison for violating my probation from the felony charges.

That was when I first realized I had a problem. I experienced some intense withdrawals and didn't really get on my feet until about 4 months in. For the sake of brevity in the last 10 years I have also had 5 alcohol related car accidents, did three stints in jail, killed numerous relationships, broke my foot, and had two excruciating ankle surgeries one on each foot to repair four shredded ligaments from a disastrous fall.

I know I need to quit drinking for my health because I have an autoimmune disease and drinking is only making it worse. I'm really hoping to get some solid support as I have never really had support before. Mostly people get frustrated every time I relapse (as this is the millionth time I've tried to get sober). I really need all the support I can get as I have always been belittled and never made to feel good enough which is probably a significant reason why I drink.