Notices

Finding a sponsor

Old 11-17-2014, 10:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finding a sponsor

Hope everyone had a great weekend.

I am new to going to AA and trying to figure out how to find the right sponser. Everyone has been welcoming and a few people have given me their phone number and told me to call if I needed to talk. However, in the meetings I've been to a few people have shared stories about issues with sponsors. I am wondering how you go about getting a sponsor and how to know if they are right for you?
Old 11-17-2014, 11:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Look for the guys that are there at a lot of meetings that you attend, and have a lot of sobriety under their belt. My sponsor is 23 years sober, Look at it this way, there a lot of people with a year or 2 that still are active, but those that have 10 + years and are still active in the program today regularly are those that want to be there and will help. Someone with say a year would be ok for like a co-sponsor, as even then these guys are going to be seeking advice from the guys with a lot of sobriety under their belt in dealing with those they sponsor. At least they should be.
Old 11-17-2014, 12:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi.
This having a sponsor is like having an important, to you, guide. I called my first one a temp. because like you I didn’t know what to expect.
Please don’t take temporary as someone we can fire if we don’t like what they say because there will be things that we may be fearful but highly recommended we do. I didn’t like the thought of getting involved or sharing at meetings but they were great things for me to do for my recovery.

BE WELL
Old 11-17-2014, 12:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

First (and maybe only) requirement is that they have had a spiritual awakening as the result of taking the 12 Steps. Beyond that, someone that isn't shy about owning a BB, has a full working knowledge of the Steps, and demonstrates (not talks) a level of contented sobriety that you would like to have.