Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

Advice please - husband denies drinking even after driving drunk and pissing the bed.

Advice please - husband denies drinking even after driving drunk and pissing the bed.

Old 10-21-2014, 06:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry Advice please - husband denies drinking even after driving drunk and pissing the bed.

Hi, I have been reading posts here for a few weeks but this is my first time writing. I am hoping for some support and advice on the most recent incident dealing with my AH.

I have been married for 9 years and I am aware of my AH's alcohol abuse for the last 6. For about 5 years he spent all his time at home alone in his office downstairs, drinking until he passed out. Almost all of his interaction with me or my son (now 7) was to rage. I did everything - working, raising our son basically alone, all of the housework and gardening and raising poultry.

He hid all the drinking as he knew I didn't approve - he has a family history of alcoholism. I suspected many times that he was drunk and asked him and he denied it. I believed him, and so my descent into misery began. I found a stash of empty bottles 2 years ago and confronted him and he then moved himself upstairs, sat in a chair using his tablet and my son and I continued to live basically alone. Last year I found more empties and confronted him and he said he hid them because he knew I didn't like it (I recognize that as deflecting blame).