Notices

New here, like to introduce myself

Old 10-21-2014, 01:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, like to introduce myself

Hi all,

Im mrjustin

Ive been drinking to excess for about 10 years now im 36. I guess ive bin a functional alcoholic, I work etc but have morevthan my fair share of sickies and smelling like grog at work afraid if being found out. I'm drinking about 12 to 18 stubbies of heavy a night or 2 bottles of wine.
Lately ive had horid problems with anxiety when the alcohol wears off and im hungover the next day. I feel light headed, dry mouth, hearts racing, feel like I could pass out which leads me to think im dying of something and have a panic attack. I then drink to calm down and get rid ofvthat feeling. So im not being really functional anymore my wife is over me being not there for her and the kids. I spend way too much money we dontvhave very selfishly and feel **** for doing so.

I know I was the victim of a violent childhood, but I also know thatveven if thats contributed to why I drink I cant hide behind excuses. Been thinking about going to AA but bit unsure/ wary. Really keen to connect with others going throuhh the same thing. Im not sober yet but want to and dont want to do the whole "you can only quit if you have hit rock bottom thing". Id dont want itvto get to the point that I lose my family and job etc....
Old 10-21-2014, 01:16 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, mrjustin. This is a great place to find support. I don't go to AA but I am on here every day. Keep posting and reading the forums. You can do this.
Old 10-21-2014, 01:18 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! This is a great place to start your path to recovery. You don't have to hit rock bottom to make a decision to get sober. It's never too early, but if you wait too long it can be too late.

Try AA, post here, ask questions. Lots of good advice and support available here.
Old 10-21-2014, 02:02 AM
  # 4 (permalink)