Notices

Careers and overcoming the damage already done.

Old 10-20-2014, 02:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Careers and overcoming the damage already done.

I have been in recovery for 3 years now and having great difficulty finding any meaningful work beyond menial jobs that I take just to pay the bills. Before alcoholism took over, I worked in finance but I drank my way out of the job and many more after that.

I am sober now but the problem for me is that I can't pass a background check because of a DUI, a bankruptcy, and long gaps in my resume. I have no decent references anymore as the last 7-8 years of my working history are very spotty.

I have given up on any mid-size to large company hiring me because of the numerous red flags I raise. I have had 3 job offers rescinded since I got out of rehab due to my past and now that I am 38 yo, I am getting too old for entry-level positions.

Any advice from anyone out there who has successfully entered the work force after getting sober despite their checkered past? I feel a sense of hopelessness starting to eat away at me and I am worried about my future.
Old 10-20-2014, 02:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Can you stick at one of the menial jobs for a little while and get a solid reference from that? I think that would go a long way if someone sees these red flags but then most recently you have this reference that is a solid in your favor?
Old 10-20-2014, 02:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I haven't been in quite your shoes, but some thoughts that came up for me;

with a background in finance, have you considered getting into independent financial planning / financial advisory? Not sure what the requirements are for repping as a personal financial planner but maybe that could be a place to start?

how about looking at small business opportunities - dust off your financial hat and look around you - are there local businesses or smaller organizations that might need a bit of skilled financial help?