Notices

Can a 19 year old be an alcoholic?

Old 10-06-2014, 06:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can a 19 year old be an alcoholic?

My name is Rachael, I'm 19, Irish, and a college student - and I'm probably an alcoholic.

I wasn't really sure where to post this, but I just wanted to put it out there. I'm an intelligent person, I study well for college and I'm studying to get a diploma in the clarinet at the moment as well. I help out at my old school teaching choir, and I give language lessons to some kids in my neighbourhood. My point is, I'm not using alcohol because I have a difficult life - in fact my life is pretty privileged in comparison to most.

So I don't understand why I stay up really late and wait for my Dad to go to bed so that I can drink by myself. When I'm on a night out with friends my alcohol consumption is actually okay, it's not out of the ordinary. But I drink alone - that's the difference. If I feel stressed or my workload is too much, I just want a drink. When I had a full time job over summer I would go to the bar after my shifts and drink alone because no-one could judge me for drinking on a weekday (or every weekday).

And I'm not in denial - like I said, I'm a smart kid. There's a reason I keep my drinking a secret from everyone, because they'll get worried and try to help me. And that's my problem, I don't want help. I don't want to stop.

So why am I here? Honestly I'm not really sure. Maybe because I'm hungover and feel like crap. I want to know what's wrong with me that I'm self medicating with alcohol when I have an awesome life to begin with. I suppose I just wanted to get it off my chest.

And I'm sorry if I've posted in the wrong forum for this.
Old 10-06-2014, 06:13 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Rachwx,