Notices

Just realizing what drinking cost me

Old 09-29-2014, 08:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just realizing what drinking cost me

Now that I am just over 2 months sober my mind is sharper and I'm focusing with crystal clear vision on things I've been blurry about for years. One aspect of my life I've been careless about is money. I have been working for the past 15 years in a profession that pays well. As a result of feeling secure in that area I squandered money, was too generous with family and generally made poor choices with investments that I am just realizing cost me between $ 150 to 200 thousand dollars. I'm not wealthy by any stretch which is why I am kicking myself now as I awaken to my new and clearer reality and see this. Before that I was sober for many years raising my 2 children alone and in poverty working hard to get this job. Now retirement is less than 10 years away so that money could have come in handy. I know there are people worse off and better off than I am. I'm just needing to vent because I'm mad at myself. Perhaps this is one of the moments on my new path that requires me to dig deep and accept that which I cannot change and move forward and forget about the past. Thanks for listening.
Old 09-29-2014, 08:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Do your best

Dont dwell newpathway i had the same thing around the 2-3 month mark

i couldnt believe what i had woken up to

i went into overdrive being careful that no matter what i was never drinking again
Old 09-29-2014, 08:20 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Thankful for this community

Yeah, I used to be responsible with finances too, up until a decade or so ago when because I felt I earned a good wage...but mostly because I stopped caring...I got a little loose around me spending habits.
That's one of the things I'm just starting to work on again. History, as you say, is done now.
Old 09-29-2014, 08:32 AM
  # 4 (permalink)