Notices

Where do I start?

Old 09-28-2014, 10:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Where do I start?

Good morning everyone -

I'm 29 years old and have been an alcoholic for 8 years. I rarely every drank underage (I was the good kid who actually liked school and was involved with a lot) but once I turned 21 and could buy it whenever I wanted, I was lost.

I have a college degree, a full-time job, am an dedicated volunteer for a non-profit... but every night I have 8-10 shots of Vodka. It hasn't always been like this but for the last 5 years (at least) it's been a pretty routine thing.

I have attempted to get help through a program with my insurance company and have been sober for a few short periods of time but it never lasts long. No-one knows that I drink like I do. Not my best friends, not my family; no-one except my doctor and anyone reading this. It doesn't outwardly affect my life to a point where people notice. At least I don't think it does and I feel confident that someone would approach me about it if they knew. I'm a very controlled drunk, I've never been in any trouble with the law (no DUIs), I never miss work due to a hangover and I still have a social life with friends. I also have an extremely strong relationship with alcohol.

I started reading the Big Book and have meetings in my area saved into my phone but I don't go. I want to. I'm killing myself and I want to be sober more than anything in my life. I don't have the strength to take the first step into meetings though and I don't have the willpower to stop on my own. I know that I need help.

It's honestly a terrifying thought to me never to drink again. I don't want to drink but it's such a part of me that it scares me not having it be a part of my life.

Do you have any advice for me on taking the first step in recovery? Was/Is anyone else in the same boat where from the outside, you appear to have a "normal" life?
Old 09-28-2014, 10:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

[QUOTE=StrugglingGirl;