Notices

AA questions

Old 09-26-2014, 11:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

AA questions

Hi, all.

I have been going to meetings this week and have been to one group twice, yesterday and the day before. I feel as if, when they devote time to allow new people to speak, there is a great deal of pressure to do so. I may be paranoid, but it feels like people are looking at me expectantly, and last night there was a man who made eye contact with me, raised his eyebrows, and, when I didn't speak, shook his head. Paranoid? I don't know.

I am very new to this, and this group is 50 people, a large group in my opinion, and I do not know anyone. I feel very uncomfortable and have considered seeking another group, though this one is the closest to my home and fits in my schedule. Does anyone have a comment on switching to another group?

Also, I am not sure if I will be asked to leave if I attend another meeting without speaking. Is there some third-meeting rule regarding this?

I understand members may feel like I am not sharing appropriately or believe I am not serious about sobriety, but this is not the case. I am simply a shy person with many questions that I would rather pose to an individual or small group than to a room of 50 strangers.

Please advise.

Paixfleur
Old 09-26-2014, 11:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Paxi,

I'm don't go to AA meetings, but I hope that you don't feel pressure to speak. Hopefully you will share when the time is right.
Old 09-26-2014, 11:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

I don't attend AA regularly, but I have been to meetings. I would say that if you don't feel comfortable sharing and you are verbally pressured to do so ( even after you've declined once ) then perhaps try a different meeting.