Notices

Overindulging ... in work!

Old 09-09-2014, 01:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Overindulging ... in work!

Guys, I have a problem. I think I work too much, and I'm getting burnt out! I'm a contractor, and the company that I work for has loads of work. And since I am trying to save as much money as possible, I have been working a lot. My work is pretty demanding, and my head hurts at the end of the day!

I was working this much before I stopped drinking, but I think now that I have more energy to do other things, I don't want to work as much. I had planned on working really hard for two or three years and investing a bunch of money before taking a break, but I'm not sure if sacrificing the next three years to have extra money for retirement is worth it.

I don't know what to do. I'd like to work ten or twenty less hours a week, but that would be a sizeable amount of money. Honestly, I'm just tired and cranky and needed to vent! At least work gives me something to do (besides drink!), and I'm very thankful to have this job. Thanks for listening!
Old 09-09-2014, 01:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

My theory on that is that to a certain extent, money is useless if you don't have time to spend it on things you enjoy. Certainly saving for retirement is a great idea, but to me life should be about balance. If the amount of time you are working is detrimental to other areas of your life, then you should certainly at least consider working less. Maybe talk with your supervisor and see what they have to say? They may think you WANT all the extra hours.
Old 09-09-2014, 02:03 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Scott - My supervisor would probably like it if I picked up all the work! But really, I do this to myself. I can work as much or as little as I like -- as a contractor, I'm only obligated to pick up two assignments a week. But I grew up really poor, so when I'm presented with the opportunity to make more money, I usually go for it.