Untrue assumptions

Old 09-02-2014, 08:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Untrue assumptions

While caught up in the despair that is living with alcoholism, I really and truly thought that I didn't know who I was, and that I never had. That I was this meek, insecure follower. After some serious introspection I realized that isn't true. I don't do formal prayer or meditation. What I do is stream of consciousness writing every evening, and boy has God dropped some knowledge on me. This is easier to do for me than formal meditation or prayer because in high school/college I was an avid journaller. I think it saved my life, in all honesty through some of my depressive teen years when I really *didn't* know myself. So it was familiaar to slip back into.

What I realized is that I am NOT a meek follower. Before getting stuck the the vortex of the helpless/hopeless cloud of alcoholism, I forgot that. In high school, I worked as a teen staffer at Girl Scouts day camp. I did this for 4 years and in my last year was given the position of music director for the whole camp. I had a first year Program Assistant under me. When I was 13, I planned and executed a Service Unit encampment for the whole area of troops ranging from Brownies to Cadets. In high school I was proud to be in the drama geeks society and LARPed with pride.