Does serenity feel uncomfortable?

Old 08-26-2014, 05:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Does serenity feel uncomfortable?

So I just got out of a wonderful Nar-Anon meeting. I'm fairly new to the program(started attending about 3 months ago) and I really love my home group and the comfort and fellowship they have bought to my life. The topic tonight was serenity. People talked about the prayer, their personal definition of the word, the various ways and methods they have used to achieve it, etc. Through Nar-Anon and from starting therapy, I am beginning to achieve moments of serenity here and there. I was just wondering if any of you have experienced what I have when achieving moments of serenity. Sometimes when I am lucky enough to attain it, it feels almost uncomfortable. Sometimes I feel guilt, other times I find myself becoming anxious and waiting for the bottom to drop out. How could something I need and want so badly make me so uncomfortable at times???
Old 08-26-2014, 06:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

when you truly find serenity....you will know. at 3 months of meeting attendance, not having worked the steps, serenity is a ways away still.

while AA did not corner the market on Serenity, I believe the Promises as written in the AA Big Book describes it best....Chapter Six, Into Action - it comes directly after the discussion about step 9, making amends:

THE PROMISES

The Promises, that are read in many A.A. Meetings can be found on page 83-84, of the Big Book, Alcoholics Anonymous.

THE A.A. PROMISES