My mom relapsed

Old 08-26-2014, 02:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My mom relapsed

Ok, this is my first time using this site or anything like it so I'm not quite sure if I'm doing this right; bare with me.
my mother has been an alcoholic since I was a kid, and it got especially bad about a year ago. She then got in a car wreck drunk and after a slew of legal craziness, she now is on probation with her license suspended. She went to rehab and was sober for 8-9 months. Recently she's relapsed, however and has gotten unbelievably reckless. She'll take the car and go buy more alcohol, even while drunk. If she were to be caught, she'd be facing somewhere near a year in prison.
She won't listen to anyone, she knows it's stupid and she admits it but she refuses to stop. To be honest, I'm not entirely sure what to do anymore. I've always been supportive of her but she won't listen to common sense. She still attends AA meetings weekly but they don't seem to be getting through to her. Any advice?
Old 08-26-2014, 02:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I am so sorry that you are going through this agony, Riley. Someone will be along shortly who understands; this a "slow" time of day (dinner time, rush hour).

Just keep bumping the thread if you don't get a response soon (by responding to your own post).

I hope that things work out for you and your Mom.
Old 08-26-2014, 02:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

So sorry you are going through this pain dear. Sorry that your mom is in so much pain, too. After living with an A father (who I didn't realize up until about last week is an A), and AH, I have learned over and over, when they are in active drinking and say they "know" they have a problem, they really don't, and are either saying it to appease loved ones or they may "know" its a problem but just aren't willing or able to tackle it.