He's Been Gone just Over 2 Weeks

Old 08-24-2014, 09:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

He's Been Gone just Over 2 Weeks

after us living here separately for several years. At first I felt paralysed by anxiety. Part of that was due to what other people might say or their reactions but friends have been really supportive of me and I don't exist to family so they aren't in the picture. Part of it was if he tried to come back. He hasn't and seems unlikely too now.

It's only been 2 weeks but it feels like a lifetime. He told me awful stuff he's up to when he had contact with his sons. I ignored him. He is nothing to me now and I don't care what he is up too. I feel calm and happy, the anxiety has gone and I'm getting used to the peace.

I've been working on myself for a few years as to why I chose an alcoholic and emotionally abusive men. It's been an eye opener. Part of it was I never felt I deserved any better cos, as a child, I had an abusive father. Partly cos decent men never seem to like me. I realised that's cos they don't give off the vibes the bad boys do so I didn't respond to them in a positive way. I've realised, and really know deep down, I do deserve better. I'm a kind, loving person who deserves the same back. I am actively making friends with people who make me feel good and happy, not ones who put me down or have unhealthy lifestyles. My motto is stay out of the pubs, stay out of the clubs...I'm avoiding bad boy types, the ones just after sex, the ones circling like sharks and concentrating on forming friendships with people born out of common interests and mutual respect. The knock on to that is I now have a life ..it's a strange concept after 18 years with exah and life revolving around him even tho I have been pulling away for the past 7 years, while he was here I wasn't free.