Notices

ginkgo biloba?????

Old 08-10-2014, 03:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Failure Is Not An Option

ginkgo biloba?????

Afternoon folks,

I was making a cup of iced tea a little while ago, after putting ice in the cup, I got a gallon of milk out of the refrigerator and starting pouring. I'm having trouble remembering words, details, etc. This is problematic especially for me because I'm an instructor. Do you think ginkgo biloba will help? Thanks.
Old 08-10-2014, 03:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I've no personal experience with ginkgo biloba!!

My mind was also all over the place for a long time, forgetting things etc, but it all eased with time!!

Hang in there!
Old 08-10-2014, 03:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Resolv,

I've just looked at your earlier threads and have seen that you are relatively newly sober and a few days ago were complaining for shaking. Like it was recommended on your previous thread, I would suggest to check in with a doctor first, before you decide to start taking Ginkgo or any other herbal cognitive enhancers. Have you had a thorough physical recently? For example, nutritional deficiencies are very common in alcoholics and they take time to normalize even with healthy diet after quitting drinking. Some of the common nutritional deficiencies that can be caused by heavy drinking can also lead to cognitive deficits, and they are relatively easy to help with correcting those nutrients after having a picture of them from blood tests etc. Your doctor can help with this. Other than that, cognitive problems are very common in early sobriety and can last for several months in some people even in the absence of identifiable physiological problems.

I would suggest that you see a doctor, perhaps even get an evaluation by a neurologist, and ask their advice what might help, including potential supplements. Ginkgo can also have side effects and interactions with other potential meds and these are also important to check first.

Good luck to you!