Notices

First post on a forum ever.

Old 08-07-2014, 04:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First post on a forum ever.

Hello everyone,
This is the first time I have posted on a forum so Im a bit new to this.
I am in my mid thirties, married with no children and have used alcohol over the years to help deal with....well life...

I am originally from Canada and left home when I was 19 and moved to Australia on my own. I have been here for 17 years and am now an australian citizen. I have never been close to my family and in fact I speak to my parents about once or twice a year through email and do not speak at all to my siblings.

Ive always found it hard to maintain female friendships in Australia, I dont know if it because Im too opinionated or outspoken or people are intimidated by me. I am a text book extrovert and love to connect with people but aussie woman are hard to crack!

I have been seeing a psychologist for years now and she wanted me to start Naltrexone this week. I have the script in my bag but I am determined to do this myself without drugs. I know its always there if I need it.

I have gone cold turkey on Monday 4th August, its now day 4 and Im doing ok. Trying to keep busy in the evenings....but I have to admit Im not looking forward to the weekend.

How do you get through a friday night? I used to start drinking at 5pm at work, head to the bottle shop for wine tastings and then polish off 1 or 2 bottles at home....that was my way to relax.

Happy to hear about any suggestions everyone has to get through the weekends.

Thanks for reading
Old 08-07-2014, 04:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Victoria

I think support really helps - we have a weekenders thread here, a busy newcomers forum and other support threads.

I spent my first few Fridays here - it gets easier

good to have you aboard

D
Old 08-07-2014, 04:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome victoria. I posted my first post anywhere here on SR as well.