Notices

Hi, newbie here

Old 07-30-2014, 01:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi, newbie here

Hello All,

I am 32 and decided it is time to stop drinking. I didnt think I was drinking that much. Roughly 6 beers a day of less than 5% alcohol, but on weekends it was more. I didnt know I was drinking more than 6 a day until I really sat down and counted. I brew beer and keg it, so it is often not easy to track how much I drink.

So a few days ago I just decided it was time. What prompted me to do so, was a binge drinking weekend with some buddies. I just had a revelation that it just isnt good for me- duh! Anyways I had a complete metabolic panel done a few months back and all my liver counts were well within normal range so I am thankful for that.

Today is day 3 of a tapering schedule (tried cold turkey and got withdrawal symptoms). I have been drinking one beer less every night and am now down to 3 beers a day. Progress I guess. But last night I experienced some bad withdrawal symptoms. Splitting headache, feeling of crappiness, nausea, and just feeling down. Is this because of my tapering down? I thought tapering down would decrease my symptoms. I have also had twice a day of loose stools. I think I also may be losing weight. It might be due to the decreased caloric intake and maybe due to some lack of appetite.

I read Vit B complex is good for you as is L Glutamine so I plan on getting some of that tonight after work. Anyways just wanted to say hi, and just put it out there what I am going through. Today I feel a little better, but last night was horrible as were the days when I tried to stop cold turkey.

Thanks of listening.
Old 07-30-2014, 01:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome JRyan, glad you found SR. Great support here.

Best of luck to you!
Old 07-30-2014, 02:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Tapering down will make your withdrawal symptoms last longer. And, tapering is really hard for alcoholics to stick to.