Notices

Sobriety an creativity

Old 07-28-2014, 07:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sobriety an creativity

Hi. This question may seem a little off-the-wall, but I wonder if anyone has any experience in this area. Here goes...

I'm a composer song writer. I would often have a lot of my best ideas and write good lyrics when "under the influence". I'd just press record on my mini studio and let things flow and then tidy up my work when sober...so anyway, clearly I'm going to have to start working in another way, but the trouble is that in the last 18 days (since I began my adventure with sobriety) I haven't written a single lyric or musical note.

Has anybody else found that their creativity/inspiration was blocked when they got sober? Did it pass?
Old 07-28-2014, 07:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

It's a good question amp, and a complex one really.

I suppose what you are talking about is inspiration. I recently heard Tom Petty interviewed on "Q" with Jian Ghomeshi and Petty talked about how he has no idea where the inspiration comes from to write. He said the band doesn't even really talk about it - they just tap into it. A lot of artists feel this way - that our best work comes from "somewhere" and we'd rather not look too hard at the gift.

Of course, as any artist knows inspiration is only one part of it. The hard, hard work of practicing your craft - in your case learning licks, scales, whatever it is that you do to hone your skill - that has to happen too in order for your inspiration to come to fruition.