Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Help! Overly jealous/emotional girlfriend to recovering drug addict boyfriend...

Notices

Help! Overly jealous/emotional girlfriend to recovering drug addict boyfriend...

Old 07-26-2014, 11:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Help! Overly jealous/emotional girlfriend to recovering drug addict boyfriend...

Ok, so I'm new to this and I desperately need some advice. I have been with my boyfriend for 2 and a half years now. I love him to death and he loves me too. He has been sober for about as long as we have been together, maybe a week longer. On our first date was when he had started rehab again (which he didn't tell me about until after our date). We had kind of known each other on and off for 3 years before we ever went out or even met. (We had met online). We dated for a short while and a month later we were officially together. About 4 months into our relationship he ended up going to jail. He just got out early this year after almost 2 years in jail. I would visit him every other weekend and write to him daily. I have been there for him through it all. I answered his calls whenever he called (even while I was at work). I understand he's been busy with school, parole, probation, taking care of a puppy (that I insisted he didn't get just yet because we can't afford it), NA meetings, therapy and finding time to do his homework in between. Plus, he runs for about 2 hours every morning. I have only been able to see him on Sundays for the past few months. Maybe for about 4 to 6 hours every time. I'm usually waiting for him to call since he's always so busy. When he does call we don't talk for more than 15 to 30 minutes at a time. He doesn't even text me in between much anymore. When we hang out I suggested we don't play with our phones and he had said it was a great idea. But that only worked for about 2 dates or so. Th