Notices

never ending cycle

Old 07-24-2014, 11:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question never ending cycle

Hi all. I'm new to this and not the most technologically gifted with computers not exactly sure how it works yet but I've been told to introduce myself so I'll give ye a brief story so please feel free to drop me a line.

Over the past number of weeks/months I've begun to come to terms that I need to drastically reduce my drinking or stop altogether. Whilst some of my fondest memories have involved beer fueled banter these are becoming less and less and I left an excellent career, long term girlfriend who was my rock and pissed off to the other side of the world so it wouldn't be as noticeable. Now 6 months later I have squandered every last cent of my savings, on the cusp of losing my job if I fail to show up again, a string of fights and trouble with the law its time to make the change before its too late.

In saying all that I am not homeless drink in in a bus shelter but the issue is I cannot have 1 drink and leave it, I end up going on a full blown bender for days on end where I am liable to do absolutely anything.

I would love to know of anyone with similar experiences and how ye took that first step to stop and anyone who has managed to reduce their intake as opposed to stopping completely as I find 95% of my social life and most other Irish persons life involves alcohol so I don't want to lose that aspect of my life if at all possible..
Old 07-24-2014, 11:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)