Notices

can you get dts after just 5-6 months of heavy drinking?

Old 07-24-2014, 07:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

can you get dts after just 5-6 months of heavy drinking?

I've been drinking about 8 500ml cans a day of beer for upto 6 months and get the shakes by late afternoon the day after if I don't drink. Could I be at risk of dts after this amount of time? I plan on stopping after this weekend
Old 07-24-2014, 07:56 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Hi it's me. Most of us here are only experts on ourselves and there are as many experiences as there are SR members.
If you are sensitive to withdrawal it's essential to see a doctor about it. Why? Well in some cases sudden withdrawal can cause dangerously high blood pressure and there is the possibility of strokes.
Put aside any shame or idea of doing it on your own, and get the right medical advice. It can also give you a much better chance of succeeding.
Old 07-24-2014, 08:23 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Yeah that's what my fiance says but they say the best meds are valium and stuff that I already have a high tolerance to as I take it for anxiety
Old 07-24-2014, 08:26 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Still - see your doctor.
Old 07-24-2014, 08:30 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Talk to a doc. 5% of all medical detoxes have DT's--usually daily, very heavy, long term drinkers. Lots of other Post Acute Withdrawal Syndrome symptoms come with cold turkey quitting so if you have the means, find a doc who knows and cares--most don't. Abrupt cessation can cause permanent damage as well as long recovery periods of PAWS. Shakes and sweats are NOT DT's.
Old 07-24-2014, 09:04 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Itsme, don't try and second guess the doctors. Just tell them the truth about everything, and let them take care of it.

You don't want to end up having a stroke. It could cause permanent damage.
Old 07-24-2014, 09:21 AM
  # 7 (permalink)