Difference btwn enabling & boundaries?

Old 07-22-2014, 08:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Difference btwn enabling & boundaries?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Al-Anon and this forum, having posted a few times but I mostly read a lot since I discovered my H was alcoholic a few weeks ago. I went to my first meeting on July 5th.

He's not the "typical" alcoholic -- whatever that is -- because he seems to be able to stop after a few drinks but that's usually because he just falls asleep. He goes to work everyday, waking himself up. Drinks on weekends and several nights a week. Sometimes he's crabby and mean, other times he's funny and sweet. No DUIs. No hitting me. It makes me crazy and makes me think that I'm the crazy one and that he's not really an alcoholic.

So as I said, I'm new. I've attended four Al-Anon meetings. I've read a lot on here. Found a recovery podcast and listen to it several days a week. Have the Courage to Change book and read it daily.

I've learned I need to put the focus on ME, changing me because I can't change him. I used to pick up his beer cans, empty liquor glasses left by sofa at night after I sent him to bed when he falls asleep on sofa. Now I go to bed before him so I can get the good sleep I need as I am dealing with adrenal fatigue. So no more sending him to bed and picking up after him.

I really think he has a bigger issue with anger because that surfaced first in our marriage years ago. I've had to learn to not discuss certain issues (world events, kids, sports, etc) because if I don't agree with him I get lots of anger and put downs....I've noticed over recent years that alcohol just makes that worse.

Anyway, I have a question about boundaries and enabling: