Notices

Issues with Memory - PAWS?

Old 07-14-2014, 05:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Issues with Memory - PAWS?

Hi there everyone, hope ya'll are doing well.
I just have a question. I am over 5 months sober and am experiencing all the regular 'ol things one might experience with early sobriety. But one thing that is beginning to irk me is my memory...
I am currently studying for school but I can't seem to retain information as well as I used to. In the past I was able to just read a book and remember A LOT of it and now I can probably reread a paragraph 3 times and still not know what the heck it was that I just read!
Is this possibly a sign/symptom of PAWS? Has anyone else experienced this 'memory loss' or inability to retain information? If so, how long did it last for you and does anyone have any suggestions on how to help your brain out a little more?

Thanks.
Old 07-14-2014, 05:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Marchia in Aeternum

One thing I remember from college was that if I studied while drinking I had trouble recalling the info sober. I find myself forgetting things constantly, now. So I keep a notepad and pen around and write stuff down.

Forgetting a few things here and there is preferable to forgetting entire nights.
Old 07-14-2014, 07:26 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I unfortunatly have as well. But like trachemys said, better then forgeting a complete day
Old 07-14-2014, 07:44 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

I had the same problem, not every day but pretty often during my first year. It still happens pretty occasionally for me but not nearly as much as those first 6 months or so.
Old 07-14-2014, 07:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Marchia in Aeternum

Last week I was in the kitchen making salmon salad. I had the mayo stirred in and was ready for black pepper. I knew it was in the cabinet behind me. I turned around to get it and...

What was it I wanted?

Didn't even have to walk into another room.

Old 07-14-2014, 08:13 AM
  # 6 (permalink)