Notices

insomnia

Old 06-27-2014, 01:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

insomnia

Hi . I am new to this. And I an alcoholic. I want to stop drinking but it is not easy. I have a lot of stress to deal with everyday. I have trouble sleeping at night
Old 06-27-2014, 02:17 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Crazy Cat Lady

Hi denyya. Welcome to SR. Insomnia is very common in early sobriety. It's one of the withdrawal symptoms that is the most difficult to deal with. Isome of my medications makes me sleepy so that helps me most of the time. I also use valarian root extract and melatonin. They seem to help.

The thing is, not only is insomnia a withdrawal symptom, it's also the result of our unhealthy lifestyle. When I was drinking, I often "fell asleep" (passed out) with the TV and lights on. I engaged in all kinds of poor sleep hygiene. I pretty much did everything you're not supposed to do if you're having problems sleeping.

My best advice is pretty standard advice. Keep your bedroom cool, turn off the TV an hour before you want to go to bed. Don't eat before bed (especially sugar!), no caffeine after 3PM...like I said, I use valarian root and melatonin. Celestial Seasonings makes a tea with valarian in it called Sleepytime Extra. I like to drink a cup brewed with two bags and a little milk.

How long have you been sober?
Old 06-27-2014, 02:18 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Welcome to SR!

I used to believe that I needed alcohol to control my anxiety and help me sleep. When I would quit I would have terrible sleep.

Then I discovered that after 7 or 8 days my sleep started to get better. After 60 or 70 days my anxiety was noticeably better as well. Now I sleep 6-8 hours every night - no problems.

Give it a try. It's difficult, but only for a short time.
Old 06-27-2014, 02:25 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome the Forum deanyya!!

My sleeping was all over the place at the start, the body needs time to adjust to things, it'll improve after a while!!
Old 06-27-2014, 02:41 AM