Notices

New here

Old 06-24-2014, 05:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here

Hi. I am new to this, not sure what to do. So far, I have been reading posts. I'm 43, wife & mother, and I drink every night. I want to stop. Back in high school, I hung out with the party crowd. Wasted every weekend. Then I married one of the "partiers" I hung out with, and the party moved to our apartment. We did normal things of course, worked, had kids, ran the house, but weekends were still party time. Over the course of a few years in the 90's, we used cocaine. During this time, I started smoking cigarettes, because I needed "something". After we no longer did cocaine, the drinking started creeping up on me. Slowly, of course, as it is sneaky. So, I have just quit smoking recently, and I want to stop drinking also, but I keep wondering if I am just replacing one addiction with another, and how do I possibly get rid of all of them? That need for "something", what do I do with it? How do I get rid of it? Or is it with me forever since I started drinking and partying in my teenage years.

Thank you for listening.
Old 06-24-2014, 05:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum sagittarius!!

No one is powerless, addiction doesn't have to be forever, you can do this!!

You'll find loads of support here on SR to help you through, it can be done, there are loads of people here that have come through it!!
Old 06-24-2014, 05:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to SR. You can stop drinking and live a better life. I tried and failed many times but finally 'got it' and have been sober over four years now.

Have you any support to stop drinking? Family or friends? What about AA? Counseling can be very helpful too. There are many ways to stop drinking and stay sober. I hope you find what works for you.
Old 06-24-2014, 06:02 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Sagitarius,
Me too. I'm a sag...and an ex drinker. We have a few things in common.