Notices

I want to recover!

Old 06-19-2014, 11:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I want to recover!

I'm on day three of staying sober. I've been drinking for at least 12 years. I'm 39 and a mummy to two beautiful little girls. I function on a day to day routine, but my drinking has always started in the evening, the witching hour of 5pm. I drink wine, two bottles of Rose, Red, or white......I don't get falling over drunk on this, but I will go to bed and pass out if I consume more. Sometimes I'll have another bottle of beer or if there is more wine in the house, I'll sink that down too. Last year I started to get panic attacks and palpitations. I have always suffered from severe anxiety, since I was a kid really. The drinking at first helped and stopped my OCD thoughts. However, last year the drinking really started to take affect on my body. I had liver pain and thought I was about to die. I was struggling to get my girls to school and go to work. Felt like crap every morning, hungover, gross.I felt so panicky and hated leaving the house alone with my girls, in case I passed out in the street with them. I went off sick from work and went to see my gp. I didn't tell the truth about my drinking. I'm now nearly a year off work and have had two sober weeks in that time. I am determined this time, as I feel like a ticking health time bomb.

How long did any of the members on here take to start to feel better physically? I feel bloated and sore around my abdomen? I don't really have any bad pains. I eat well, need to loose allot of weight though. I'm feeling less symptoms of anxiety, no faint feelings, out of body feelings, palps, headaches, diarrhoea. Just this feeling like I've been doing sit ups, with the soreness.

Wish me luck. Would be great to hear from anyone else.
Old 06-19-2014, 11:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congratulations on day 3 sober..it is wonderful and exactly what your body is screaming out for.