EXBF relapsed on meth and blames me

Old 06-11-2014, 09:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy EXBF relapsed on meth and blames me

Hi All, I'm new to the SoberRecovery forum, and this is my first post. Nice to meet all of you!

I'm going through it right now--angry, hurt, sad and working on my own recovery while learning to detach from my ex-boyfriend who relapsed on meth and alcohol the night I broke up with him (last week).

In short, we met in recovery. As you might imagine, the relationship was very intense. I was just clean, and he went to detox/got clean while we were together. He was never smoking meth when we were together--but he was still drinking every day (just not around me) for a little less than a month before he went to detox.

He's a wonderful man in many ways, and he gave me a lot of emotional gifts--helped hold me up when I had trouble taking care of myself, encouraged me, loved me. And I did the same for him.

But I found that I was depending on him far too much, and I wasn't concentrating on myself--on my recovery, on the basics of my life, cooking for myself, being a functional adult on my own (I'm 38 and he is 45). So, last week, I broke up with him.

He was sad. I was sad. He was confused. I tried to explain the reasons to him. He said he understood. I had hopes that we would remain friends, though I anticipated we'd both need space before that was possible. He said he wanted to remain friends as well, but that he needed space.

Monday night, we talked. And I learned that he has been using and drinking again. Less than a few hours after he left my house last Tuesday (the night I broke up with him), he started smoking meth again (I am still clean). I've never done meth, though my drugs of choice were also insidious and deadly (as they all are, in my opinion). He says the sadness and pain over the breakup were his trigger. I'm also sad and in pain, but I'm not using. I understand the inclination to use, believe me.